Webmaster Forum
Go Back   Webmaster Forums UK SEO SEM Webmaster Community Forum > Web Design and Website Development > Web Hosting > Domain Names Discussions
Register FAQ Members List Downloads Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Webmaster Resources Webmaster Blogs

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 04-20-2008, 09:26 AM
Stephanie's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 79
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Stephanie is on a distinguished road
Red face Asia, China, being chased for new domain names

Hi, I received an email on Friday from what looks like a good Chinese company (europatech.com) informing me that a 'client' wants to buy the following BizFace names and use the keyword BizFace.

Because we have trademarked BizFace in the UK, any website that shows up BizFace that can be seen here, could be in trouble anyway, but what these guys are suggesting is that we buy all of the following before their client does:


1domain names
www. BizFace.cn
www. BizFace.com.cn
www. BizFace.net.cn
www. BizFace.org.cn
www. BizFace.hk
www. BizFace.tw
www. BizFace.com.tw
www. BizFace.asia
2internet keyword
BizFace



Is this a scam?


It seems to me we can't buy every single dot something that now exists?


Advice much appreciated.



Cheers,
Stephanie
__________________
Stephanie
www.bizface.co.uk
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Stumble this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 04-20-2008, 10:33 AM
dman_2007
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
iTrader: / %
Default

Not an outright scam, they are just fishing for new customers by spamming people. I got those email as well and so did plenty of other people i know. They are hoping that by sending these type of emails they might scare a few website owners into registering useless ccTld versions of their domain name with them. Don't worry, no need buy each and every cctld version of your name especially if you hold the trademark and don't inend to do business in those countries.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Stumble this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 04-20-2008, 12:41 PM
Stephanie's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 79
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Stephanie is on a distinguished road
Default Asian domain names

Thanks so much dman - that is a big relief!

Cheers,
Stephanie
__________________
Stephanie
www.bizface.co.uk
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Stumble this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 04-20-2008, 03:50 PM
temi's Avatar
Facilitator
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: London, England.
Posts: 10,899
iTrader: 13 / 100%
temi is just really nicetemi is just really nicetemi is just really nicetemi is just really nicetemi is just really nice
Send a message via ICQ to temi
Default

I have received email like this before in the past. Just delete it, its fraudulent. There is another one you may receive in future, this is from some European company asking you to pay for trademarking your domains, this one came to me by post, you want to just bin it as well.
__________________

Add Eco sites to The Green Directory free of charge
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Stumble this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Useful Resources & Sites
Search Engine Marketing Company
UK Web Hosting
Build One Way Links
 
 
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT. The time now is 05:43 AM.

UK Webmaster World Forums - Internet marketing, web development, domain names, SEO contest and discussuons.
Subscribe to our feeds   Subscribe to our feeds

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.1.0